Greg King

Five Stones

I Need Africa More Than Africa Needs Me

I was asked by Mocha Club to write about the concept of why “I need Africa more than Africa needs me.” Mocha Club [www.mochaclub.org] is a community-based website where members like our family can start a team and invite friends to join them in giving $7 a month – the cost of 2 mochas – to support a project in Africa. Mocha Club’s vision is to provide a way for people who don’t have hundreds or thousands of dollars to make a difference in Africa.

After watching this video the faces and images that I saw in Africa just over 10 weeks ago came flooding back to my mind and my heart. The truth is those faces are with me everyday. Almost everyday I try and process something that happens in my life with the new reality that I gained in the villages of Kenya. My new reality is this: Circumstances do not define happiness. For too long I have allowed my circumstances to dictate my joy in this life. This way of thinking was shattered as I watched men and women sing and dance while experiences challenges that I cannot even comprehend.  The fact is I have so much…too much. How can I not give with all that I have and all the things that I feel I have to have in this life. I think Mother Teresa was talking directly to me when she made this statement:

It is a poverty to decide that a child must die so that you may live as you wish.”  -Mother Teresa

So while I know that I am needed and can make a difference in Africa, the truth is I need Africa more than Africa needs me.

Please Share your thoughts in my comments, and even blog about it yourself. I would love to see the people that read this blog make a real impact in the lives of our brothers and sisters in Africa. Join in this worthwhile cause of recasting the damaging images that force pity over partnership. If you would like to join my Mocha Club team please click on this link: My Mocha Club Team and then invite your friends. The time has come where we can no longer just sit by and do nothing.

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | Africa

2 Comments »

  1. Hey Greg,
    Can you elaborate a little about the Mother Teresa quote? I didn’t really understand what it meant.

    Comment by Grant Johnson | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  2. “It is a poverty to decide that a child must die so that you may live as you wish.“ -Mother Teresa

    I take it to mean that because I am rich i have a responsibility to help others. That God would want me to use my wealth to not just take care of all my wants but to provide for others needs.

    “Command those who are rich in this present world not to be arrogant nor to put their hope in wealth, which is so uncertain, but to hope in God who who richly provides us with everything for our enjoyment. Command them to do good, to be rich in good deeds, and to be generous and willing to share.” 1 Timothy 6:17-18

    So instead of buying that next new thing, when my old thing is still perfectly fine I give that money to help the poor.

    Comment by kingme | December 4, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

