Greg King

Five Stones

God Uses the Ordinary

002The other day I had the opportunity to take a private guided tour through the Billy Graham Library here in Charlotte. To be honest I wasn’t expecting to be as moved as I was while visiting the library. I just could not get over the fact that God takes the ordinary and makes them extraordinary. How else can you explain an ordinary country boy from Charlotte rising up to become one of the greatest voices for God the world has ever heard? To see how God’s invisible hand was moving throughout the years in Billy Graham’s life was breath-taking. To think, that same God, is moving in my life and wants to use me to accomplish His purposes. No matter who you are or where you are it all begins with a prayer of submission. I love how the Message says it:

“So here’s what I want you to do, God helping you; Take your everyday ordinary life-your sleeping, eating, going to work, and walking around life-and place it before God as an offering.” (Romans 12:1-2).

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | Leadership

2 Comments »

  1. I have this verse engraved in my memory from those fighter verses we were doing with accountability partners…like YEARS ago! HA! but I really like the Message’s version. But that’s so true! And isn’t it cool how you never know what kind of EXTRAordinary impact you are making on others with your ORDIDARY, everday actions when you are following God! Solely because He is capable of adding that little bit of “extra” to our ordinary! (Ok I know I’m lame! but it’s ok!) Love reading your blog! You’re still such an encouragement to me even though you’re in a different state! 🙂

    Comment by Taylor | December 2, 2008 | Reply

  2. That is a great reminder. As I try to find where and how God wants to use me (especially after that one offer over the Summer) I get discouraged at times thinking how do I matter. Well, I can matter a lot if I let go and trust more.

    Comment by Keith Tackel | December 2, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

