Greg King

Five Stones

Next Level Leadership

Helping to make greaterEvery Holiday I try to read several books to help improve my leadership. This time I am trying to finish three books The Energy Bus by Jon Gordon, What Got You Here Won’t Get You There by Marshal Goldsmith and Leading the Team Based Church by George Cladis. I believe each of these books is going to challenge me to move past my own personal leadership lid. One of the major leadership lessons I’ve learned is that sometimes you stop growing in your leadership ability because of of your own annoying habits. While you may be doing well in your field you have found yourself stuck at a certain level. It may be that the very characteristic that you believe got you where you are is now the one thing that is holding you back.

What is that one thing in your life? I know for me it has to be my mouth. I have always been that guy in a meeting etc. that is never afraid to say the thing that every one else is afraid to say. In fact the elephant in the room and myself have been best friends for many years. So two of the things that I am asking God to help me change this year is how I view things in life and how to control my prophet based gifts. So right now I am doing a little personal inventory list on where I desire my life to be. I think this is a great first step in remembering how certain behaviors can hold you back in life.  Here are the four questions that I am working on.

1. My vision for my life (including my health) is?

2. My vision for my work, career, job and team is?

3. My vision for my relationship with my wife and children?

4. My vision for my relationship with God.

I would love to hear how you would respond to the vision God has given you in these  areas of your life. I would also love to hear what you beleive is keeping you from breaking through to the next leadership level in your life.

Side Note: I’m only a few chapters through in The Energy Bus and I’m not sure that I would recommend it just yet.

November 25, 2008 - Posted by | Life

No comments yet.

Leave a comment