Greg King

Five Stones

Loving Father

Today was one of those days as a Speaker in which you just have to completely trust God to speak through you. The audio feed in our venue service failed and I was told that I had to deliver the message. Talk about getting your heart pumping. Fortunately I had about 10 minutes to look at my Pastor’s notes and then take the notes from a sermon I heard Reggie Joiner deliver on the prodigal. The one thing that separates churches from one another is what we called the Loving Father Approach.

The Loving Father mentality is preoccupied with who is missing. The older brother mentality is preoccupied with himself.

Loving Father’s throw parties. Older brothers throw fits.

Loving father’s operate from a context of forgiveness. Older brothers operate from a context of shame.

Loving Father’s confront older brother thinking. Older brother’s criticize Loving Father thinking.

Loving Father’s leave the lights on, no matter how long it takes. Older brothers shut the door and shut the lights off.

I cannot begin to describe how heavy God’s Spirit was in the room today. It was obvious to all that God had a message that He wanted us to hear. Thank-you Father for showing yourself strong in my life today.

The image posted is the picture that hangs in my office to remind me to have a Loving Father’s Mentality and Lifestyle. May we be known for our Love for Him and for others.

if God spoke to you today in a meaningful way, I would love for you to leave a comment about your experience.

August 24, 2008 - Posted by | Preaching, Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Greg!

    The Holy Spirit was at Carmel this morning. I commend you for having the heart to speak the message with little prep time. God definitely used you this morning to speak to me and I suspect several others!

    Comment by Traci | August 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

