Greg King

Five Stones

Woe to the Popular

I have a confession…as a speaker I have always struggled with the applause of people. That sounds pretty bad but its the truth. If I’m not careful I can find myself fishing for a compliment and then other times not knowing how to accept a compliment knowing that God was the one due the credit. There is a certain satisfaction that comes with knowing that people enjoyed hearing you speak. I think everyone enjoys receiving an atta boy every now and again.  The problem is can you still get the applause of man if you are saying all that God wants to say through you? This past year God has been convicting me from Luke 6 that if I truly say all that God wants me to say than the applause meter will rapidly lower. This summer I feel that I have preached harder and more direct than I ever have in my life and while I still receive the thank-you for the challenge pat on the back the applause meter has drastically lowered. However the satisfaction of knowing that I said all that I was supposed to say has been overwhelming. I have found myself walking out to my car alone the past several Sundays in a conversation with God. I’ve found myself saying God thank-you for giving me the courage to say all that you wanted me to say and no matter the reaction I know that I am loved by you, my family, and my close friends. When I read Galatians 6 I can hear the Apostle Paul saying because of the cross my interest in the crowd died long ago. So for those who have the challenge of speaking and explaining God’s Word may we be unpopular.

July 29, 2008 - Posted by | Church Life, Leadership

2 Comments »

  1. Amen, I love hearing God speak through you and promise from today on to beat you down if you start to think you did it on your own.

    So stay in tune or watch your back, I got some Italian family I may call to take care of business. 🙂

    Comment by Keith | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. Greg, this is something that all on the “platform” struggle with. We all love the at a boys, but our talent…our gift is from God. Most weeks I do my best to give my gift back to God. Sometimes I do better than others. Your blog is a great reminder to all of us who are in anyway in a leadership role. And while I know you did not ask for it…At a boy!

    Comment by Dave | July 29, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

