Greg King

Five Stones

Leaving the Real World

Three houses, two pits, and two foundations later we have returned from Harmons, Jamaica. Coming back home from Jamaica is not as easy as it may sound. The transition happens so quick that it is difficult for one to process. To go from complete poverty to gross abundance within a three hour span is overwhelming. As I try to get a handle on all that I have learned the thought that continues to rise to top is that the world I live in, in South Charlotte is not the real world. I am so thankful for the people of Harmons and what they have taught me and our group about how to love God by serving the poor. I truely believe that I received more than I could have ever of given. Time to start the difficult transition back and figure out how to make sure that I do not buy into the myth that where I live is the real world.

July 22, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

