Greg King

Five Stones

Spiritual Fat

I just came back from another run today at the YMCA. As I ran I let my mind dwell on Hebrews 12:1 from the Message.

“It means we’d better get on with it. Strip down, start running—and never quit! No extra spiritual fat, no parasitic sins. Keep your eyes on Jesus, who both began and finished this race we’re in.”

Today as I ran I could feel the neglect of not taking care of my body as those extra pounds kept me from running to my fullest potential. In fact I had to stop every now and then to catch my breath. The part that surprised me the most was the conversation my body was having with my head. The conversation went like this, “you’re fat and out of shape you’ll never be a runner. At one point all I could hear was my body screaming just quit.” I’ve heard that same voice before in my spiritual life. “You’ll never be good enough, why would the Father love you, why would He ever use someone like you?” Just like in running you have to fix your eyes on the finish line and block out the distractions that will keep you from running well. Lord please reveal to me any parasitic sins that are in my life and help me burn off the spiritual fat I have allowed in my spiritual life. May you be pleased as I fix my eyes on You. May it be said of me that I ran well after You.

July 5, 2008 - Posted by | Personal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

