Greg King

Five Stones

Baptism in a Kiddie Pool

The other day I had an incredible opportunity to baptize a 5th grade student from our church. What makes this experience so special is that I baptized her at her house in a kiddie pool on a Tuesday morning. This was one of the most moving baptism services that I have every been apart of as a Pastor. The young girl’s Grandfather only has a few weeks to live and she wanted her Grandfather to be apart of her baptism service. So with a lot of help and creativity a plan was set quickly into motion. A large sized kiddie pool was setup at the Grandparents house and his bed was moved into the sun room so he could watch the service. The most meaningful time was when I asked for the Grandfather to say a few words to his granddaughter. It was truly a moment in which you witnessed what it means to be apart of a spiritual heritage. What a blessing it was to see this young girl baptized and as well to see God grant the grandfather his heart desire before he goes to be home with the Lord.


June 25, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Welcome back!

    Comment by Keith | June 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. Hey Greg, what a great way to start the blog back up! I have been checking every once in a while to see if anything was on there. Glad to see it is back!

    Comment by David | June 28, 2008 | Reply

  3. Her grandfather went to be home with the Lord two days after I baptized her. What a the Lord gave this family.

    Comment by kingme | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  4. OK – I can honestly (and am not ashamed) say I cried after reading this. Very moving.

    Comment by Charles | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  5. Thanks Greg –

    I am the father of the girl in the picture. Some things that happened just prior to this event make this God moment in time a very moving experience. My daughter had been through the discovery class twice and was hesitant to be baptized, even though she had trusted Jesus as her Savior.

    The Sunday morning two days before her baptism, I felt led to pray for her during the morning worship. I said, “God, please move my daughters heart to be baptized when she is ready. We want her to take that step of faith and publicly profess Jesus as her Savior.” It was hardly 10 minutes later that she grabbed me an said she wanted to be baptized. She also said that she wanted grandpa to see her. I knew he would never make it to the church service, so that is what prompted us to ask the church to do the service at his home. Little did we know that he would pass away four days from that Sunday.

    I am sending a separate photo my brother took that I think depicts this blog entry well.

    David.

    Comment by David | July 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

