Greg King

Five Stones

Know Your Sweet Spot

One of the most important lessons that I have learned throughout my years in ministry is to always play towards your strengths. If you think about it the world tells you to do the exact opposite. So many voices try and tell you to work on your weaknesses to become a well rounded person. One of my weakest areas in my ministry would be when it comes to counseling. No matter how much I try I don’t think I will ever rise above a 5 in that area. So why not put my energy in one of my strengths to bring it from an 8 to a 9. Below are my strengths according to the book Strengths Finder 2.0.

Activator: Impatient for action. Once a decision is made you must act.

Communication: You desire to inspire people to act from speaking, writing, telling stories.

Significance: You desire to be very significant in the eyes of other people. You want to be recognized, you want to be heard. You want to stand out. You want to be know for the unique strengths that you bring.

Maximizer: Excellence not average is your measure. You excel at finding strengths and making them stronger.

Relator: You are drawn toward people you already know. You find strength from being around close friends. The more you share with someone the more you risk together. These are your steps toward real friendship.

May 15, 2007 - Posted by | Leadership, Life

1 Comment »

  1. […] Leadership From the Backrow God has been teaching me some amazing things lately in the area of gifts and leadership. I am walking thru a season in which God has me working outside of my strength zone. Our student staff felt that a change was needed to stimulate spiritual growth in our students so we moved our High School Students from a weekly Wednesday night worship format to small groups in homes. While this has been an incredible change for our students it has left me without a place to exercise my top gifts. So in just a few months I have gone from preaching for our Pastor over the summer to not having a platform to teach. In fact it seems as if God is actually moving things to keep me on the sidelines for a time. I hope that my heart is tender enough to learn all that He wants me to learn while I lead from behind the scenes. If you’re curious to learn what your sweet spot in life is look at one of my previous posts for some help. Sweet Spot. […]

    Pingback by Leadership From the Backrow « Greg King | November 1, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

