Greg King

Five Stones

Passing of a Hero

Today, a hero passed away and most of the world doesn’t even know it. In fact I’m sure there will be no TV coverage or reporters at his funeral but don’t let that fool you because a great man died this afternoon. Duke Salberg took his last breath here on earth today and almost simultaneously took his first breath in heaven.

Duke Salberg has had more impact on my family than anyone else that I know. In fact,I will be able to point to his impact for generations to come. Duke was a great man because he obeyed the Lord. He became my hero the day that he walked across the street to share with my parents how Jesus Christ can change a life. He then invited my parents to come to church with his family and that night they both heard the message of God’s love. My parents would decide to enter into a personal relationship with Jesus Christ over the next two Sundays. No doubt about it a hero died today.

So while his name and actions will pass by unnoticed by most of the world, I will never forget the legacy that was established in my life because of his obedience. I will always be able to tell my children how God used Duke to change my family forever.

No doubt about it a great man died today. The one thing that I know is that when Duke finished taking his first breath in heaven he heard these words, “Well done my good and faithful servant.”

Thank-you Duke for being my hero!

April 20, 2007 - Posted by | Personal

1 Comment »

  1. Amen, He took the step that some of us wrestle with at times. But, because of his faithfulness to share the Word and your witness, your family is now a family by flesh and spirit.

    Comment by Keith | April 20, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

