Greg King

Five Stones

The Average Person Lies Three Times per Ten Minutes of Conversation

istock_000000446279small1At least that is what an expert on a new Fox Tv Show called “Lie to Me “says. This show is based off of the studies of psychologist Paul Ekman who is the author of Telling Lies: Clues to Deceit in the Marketplace, Politics, and Marriage and is also a renowned expert in emotions research and nonverbal communication.

The truth is  lying has become one of those acceptable sins of the day. Feel free to lie as long as it really doesn’t hurt someone is how most people live. However God views what comes out of our mouths very seriously. Take a look at what the writer says in Proverbs:

God can’t stomach liars; he loves the company of those who keep their word.  Prov. 12:22

It’s only human to want to make a buck, but it’s better to be poor than a liar. Prov. 19:22

I have to ask do you think most people really lie three times in a ten minute conversation. I know for us preachers if that includes exaggeration then we are in big trouble. People most likely exaggerate all the time but who flat out lies this often? So do you agree or disagree? Do you lie in almost every conversation you have? I don’t think I do, but now I’m going to be doing a little personal research over the holiday break to see where I land. I know my weakness is to exaggerate so I will be trying to see how bad that has gotten in my normal conversations. So let’s see how many Pinocchio’s are out there.

December 20, 2008 Posted by | Life | 3 Comments